Students v.s Teachers… kids stop your whining.

Ok. Yes. I am a teacher and people complain that teachers get the whole summer off. Cool complainers but let me share with you.

Truth be told, I haven’t had a summer since I was like ten. I always worked through the summer and now I’m a mom of three small cherubs so in the summer, my summer job is 24-7. I honestly don’t understand how stay at home mom’s do it. They must have the patience of a God. Me, I’m pulling out my hair after one episode of ‘Miles from Tomorrowland.’ And I can’t entertain for ten hours. It’s impossible.

We have summers off so we don’t bang our head or a colleague or a student against a wall. There is only so much patience you are given and only so many times you can answer the same question without wanting to poke your eyes out with hot pokers and peeling off your skin off piece by piece.

So now summer is over a new year has started. Students have been back for three days and I think I have had more students in my classroom telling me that they hate this class or that class, how they are so sad that they aren’t with their friends for lunch and how they have to work after school.

Cue the music. So let me get this straight… you are bored on the third day of school? Meanwhile, I have been so lovingly teaching the same subject matter for almost nine years. I feel bad that you aren’t in lunch with your friends but you should have worked on that… I’m in lunch with my friends thank God. And you have to work after school? Noooo! I do too! But my job is 24-7. When was the last time you were woken up in the middle of the night and given boogers? It never happened? Oh ok… I get boogers ALL winter long. The other night, Emily woke me up because she didn’t like her bed and wanted to sleep in mine. When I asked her where I should sleep she yelled at me and tried to banish me to the back bedroom. Vincent and Nicholas wake me up to ask if they can go to the bathroom. Let me tell you this, the answer is always yes. Go pee but please don’t tell me about it. So students, enjoy what you have now… youth.

I realized that teachers are just like students. We love to be at school for the social aspect. We love to hang out in the hallway after the bell. We enjoy hearing the groans as we ask you to write or to sit in assigned seats. We enjoy cursing like sailors when you’re not around and we enjoy telling you what to do. Why? Because we spent a lot of money at college to ‘play’ teacher but we don’t ‘play.’

So students, when you are sad that you have two more years of high school or ten more months, I want you to look at me and realize that I have like thirty more years till I’m out of high school. I will probably die in my rolly chair.

And right now you should love high school for the friends you will make and the time you broke up with what’s-his-name. These are your best years. I know they will be the best thirty years of my life. Now stop whining and enjoy a life without small people telling you about their pee, without picking boogers off tiny hands in the middle of the night and without being banished from your bed.

Life right now seems crazy but when you get out into the real world, you will see that life is black and white mixed with some craziness. However, that craziness will be worth it but wait to have kids till you’re like thirty.

Lovingly yours,

High school student for life

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

One thought on “Students v.s Teachers… kids stop your whining.”

Leave a Reply

