Watch Out for the Peaches

Our oldest son, Vincent, who is six has a peanut allergy. I’m sure many parents out there have kids with allergies.

We have taught our son to be aware of what he is eating and how to ask for help if he is unsure about food.

Halloween is especially fun and exhilarating. Vincent walks up to the houses with his brother and sister and my husband and I stand on the sidewalk. Vincent turns around and screams to us, “does this have peanuts!” Emily thinks she has a peanut allergy and starts screaming and then Nicholas turns to us and says “does this candy have penicillin!?”

Yeah… it’s awkward and yet exhilarating when they are screaming from a strangers porch. We just tell them to get the candy and run. Hey, the more Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups for me… the better.

So although it gets embarrassing as their screams break the darkness of a cool Halloween night, I’m glad they are aware of their allergies. Even Nicholas and his severe penicillin allergy which he thinks is in all foods.

So yesterday morning Vincent meets me in the bathroom, because God forbid I have a naked moment alone and a little privacy… and he tells me all about his school lunch from the day before.

“Mommy! Guess what they had for lunch?!” -Vincent
“What did they have for lunch buddy?” -me
“Pancakes, sausage, tater tots, and I had peaches and ice cream.” -Vincent
“Wow! You had all that?!” -me
“Yeah… but don’t worry mom. I took a bite of the ice cream and rubbed it on my arm to check to see if it had peanuts and if I would get a rash.” -Vincent
“Oh good. I’m glad that you checked.” -me
“Yeah. I did it with the pancakes and sausage and the tater tots and the peaches…” -Vincent
“…. even the peaches?” -me

I am so glad that he is checking his food but I didn’t tell him to bathe in it. For someone who doesn’t know him, it probably looks like he has a weird ocd issue where he has to slap food all over his body before he eats it. I think this may also be against some kind of food code because the kid has only had a shower once this week- yeah, don’t judge. So he definitely ate dirt.

So I’m glad he is checking because school lunches are not just simply black and white. Sometimes the cafeteria staff get crazy and inject the peaches with peanut butter and penicillin.

Always proceed with caution and stay away from the mystery meat in the cafeteria… that’s just my own personal tip for you. And you’re welcome.

Lovingly yours,

A mom with overly paranoid children

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

2 thoughts on “Watch Out for the Peaches”

Leave a Reply

