Popularity in High School

When you are in high school you want to be popular. Back in the 90’s, I needed cuffed jeans and to love the latest music. Instead I had un-cuffed jeans, listened to my mom’s music and my mom permed my hair.

It was pretty obvious that I was not popular in high school. You could tell this from a mile away… or you could at least see my hair. Let me talk about my hair because it was a big part of my high school experience and it’s important to paint a visual picture for you…

My mom always said that I would look beautiful with ‘Shirley Temple curls.’ I was dumb and I listened to her but instead of soft curls, I got the ‘just got electrocuted’ look. My hair was so big and frizzy that it could be seen from space… just like the Wall of China. It was literally the Eighth Wonder of the World. In fact, in the yearbook, there was my face and then the next picture was just the rest of my hair. There were no words in high school… just a lot of stares.

So either way, I was awkward and frizzy. I got along with everyone but I was never the popular kid.

Ok, fast forward to 2015… I am now a high school teacher and have been teaching high school for ten years. The other day I was out in the hallway with one of my students at dismissal and as we were talking all of the students were saying bye to me and telling me how much they loved me… there were even some high fives and secret handshakes. And then it happened. Hold on, let me gather myself… the student turned to me and said ‘God Mrs. Iannone, you are popular.’

Yes people, yes. After thirty-six years of my life and eighteen years out of high school, it is finally happening… I’m popular! So to all the people in high school that thought I would never make it and all the people who feel like they will never achieve this moment… it will happen! Oh, and my hair straightened out too and no longer requires it’s own zip code which has really saved me money on my property taxes.

Until next time,

The most popular thirty-six year old in high school

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

