Psst… Can You Pass this Note to the Kid in Front of You?

Remember giving your friends a carefully folded note in between classes or in the middle of class during high school? There was such a thrill to get little folded notes with your name on it and little doodled hearts all over the front. Then, you would see your friend in the hallway and do the sly note pass.

Or you would get a note from a boy or girl and it was like ‘do you like me? Check yes or no?’

Well, I never got those notes because my hair was taking up most of the hallway and the boys didn’t have enough time to get through my hair before their curfew. It was either that or that they didn’t have enough money to pay for me and my hair. It couldn’t have just been because of my giant hair… but I digress.

Wow, how times have changed. Now with technology and texting and snap chatting and God knows what else, kids barely communicate. I am lucky if I get a glance in the morning when I say hello. And when they don’t say hello, I awkwardly get in their space until they greet me. Or I just make my hello’s so awkwardly over the top they have to say hello so I shut the hell up.

But now a days, there is no more creative note passing. It’s all texting and social media in high school. I don’t even know if my students know how to do the cool paper fold… maybe this should be a lesson plan that I could write with Higher Order Thinking Skills? I should probably give a pre and post test first and then I will collect the data because I LOVE data. I might even put it in an excel document to show my student’s progress, That would be super fun.

Today, during class, was a perfect example of how life has changed. In the middle of one of my classes, a male student started to play a song (attached below) for a female student and he got on his knee and asked her to hang out with him.

Now first off, I have to give the male student some props. Do they still use the word ‘props?’ Either way, he got down on his knee in front of the whole class. He got on his knee in front of my desk. This kid made a ring out of paper clips! It was seriously the sweetest and boldest jester that I have witnessed in high school.

The female student was very flattered and turned him down with grace. She told him that she didn’t know him well enough yet. Either way, I thought it was adorable and a sign that sometimes these kids can still be sweet and personable even with today’s technology. So congratulations male student! I thought it was sweet and bold and showed a lot of character and I was proud of you for not writing this on snap chat or twitter or anything else while including a horrible selfie.

Yours truly,

The teacher just taking in the scene… does popcorn come with this show?

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

