Oh God, it’s the Holidays.

And here we go… another start to the holiday season.

I am not a big fan of the holidays. Most people love the holidays because it means a holly, jolly time with family. My family, although lovely, quirky and a pain in the ass in their own way, are not exactly picturesque.

I come from a home of divorce, like I am sure, many of you- my parents separated when I was in 5th grade, then got back together and then permanently got divorced when I was nineteen. Lots of ups and downs, like a roller coaster that you just keep puking on.

Divorce sucks because no matter how old you are it affects you in some way. I am thirty-six and I still am affected. Am I affected by one parent or another? Absolutely not; I am affected by both and so much more. Hence why part of my retirement fund is going to therapy.

I actually have a great colleague that gets excited about the holidays and overly excited about turkey. She randomly comes into my classroom, high kicks the air, and screams ‘turkey!’ It’s really sweet because you can tell how much she loves the holidays and being with her family. It’s awesome because she just ‘is.’ And it’s an amazing concept to me.

So my family is quirky. Yes, we fight and have our differences and debate about everything both important and stupid. For fun, my brother and I have dead leg competitions… a dead leg is where you nail the other person with your knee right into the thigh muscle. Yeah, whoever falls down first is the loser. It sounds painful but secretly it’s my favorite part of getting together with him.

So I can honestly say that I envy the people that can have their families together without awkwardness and people that can just enjoy the holidays. The only thing that gets me through the holiday season is my amazing husband and my kids and I also enjoy the holidays for the drinks and the dead legs.

So here is what I have to tell you; whether you are high kicking about turkey or wishing you could drink:

  1. Enjoy the family you have- no matter what your issues are.
  2. Appreciate what you have- don’t wish for anything else.
  3. Be mindful of the moment and less worried about what you don’t have.
  4. Stop blaming people for your current situation- look around and see how to fix it.
  5. Be thankful for your family and friends even if you live apart.
  6. Drink.
  7. Enjoy the little things like dead legs.
  8. If you can’t talk to people because your family is crazy, watch football and bond over how the Eagles can’t get a touchdown.
  9. If family is really pissing you off, you can put them to sleep… just feed them extra turkey.
  10. If all else fails, drink more.

I will be honest. I will enjoy #6, #9 and #10. Therapy is helping me with  numbers one through five, plus I like to support the local therapists by giving them money.

So have a great holiday season and I will keep you updated on my holiday extravaganzas.

Until next time,

I will be cooking and drinking and I will probably burn the stovetop but I am appreciative of what I have even if it’s not perfect all the time.

 

 

 

 

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

