Death of a Pilgrim

Whenever Vincent has a field trip, I am the mom that decorates his brown, bagged lunch to go along with the theme of the trip but yesterday I didn’t have time.

In the car to school, Vincent mentioned that he couldn’t wait to see what I put on his bag. I felt bad and told him I didn’t have time. He was bummed so I asked him what exactly they were doing on this field trip… I know… mom of the year. Vincent is like ‘I think we are learning about pilgrims and stuff.

So at every red light I drew a little more on his little bag. At the end, I had drawn a cartoon pilgrim that said ‘mmmm… corn!’

Then I picked him up later that afternoon.

‘Hey! How was your trip? Did you like your bag?’ -me
‘Yeah… it was so funny except we didn’t learn about pilgrims.’ -Vincent
‘Well, what did you learn about?’ -me
‘Like… black stuff.’ -Vincent
‘Uh…ok, you learned about slavery?’ -me
‘No! Like black things.’ -Vincent
‘A blacksmith?’ -me
‘No! It’s like black and it explodes…’ -Vincent
‘Black powder?’ -me
‘Yeah! We learned about black powder!’ -Vincent

So yeah… I was the mom that drew a pilgrim giving out corn. Seriously, I should have drawn a gun, showing the black powder igniting, while killing the pilgrim. If only I knew.

See you on the flip side and until then,

Have a good Thursday Pilgrim

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

