The Christmas Spirit

Last night the kids had ‘new cup day.’ Yes, it’s a great day when the kids get to use new cups for brushing their teeth. Perhaps the cups would last longer if they didn’t partially eat them throughout the week? Just a thought.

Either way Nicholas received the dreaded snail cup and Vincent received the coveted penguin cup. I know what you are thinking- ‘how could the cup gods be so cruel to Nicholas?’ Snail cup my ass.

So Nicholas was sad and crying and Vincent decided to trade cups with Nicholas. As they traded cups the cup angels started to sing and play the harps. After that there was the sweetest sound to any parent- silence.

As I was tucking Vincent into bed, I told him how sweet and kind he was to his little brother because he gave him that sweet penguin cup… more like the kick ass penguin cup. Only Dixie can make a cup like that.

Vincent looked at me and we caught each other’s eyes and he said ‘well, mommy, it’s Christmas break and giving is the spirit of Christmas.’

As I could feel myself swell with pride and tears, Vincent looked and me and said ‘yeah, I learned that on tv. I told you tv teaches me good things.’

So thank you PJ Masks, Sofia the First, Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Clause, and stupid Caliou (I outwardly hate that show) for teaching my son the spirit of Christmas.

I am going to go back to just being an adult in the room that referees playtime and to help Joe with delegating cups. Clearly we don’t have as much influence as Disney Jr.

Until next time,

I will be praying to the cup gods that there will be surprise alcohol in my coffee cup tomorrow. That would be the true meaning of Christmas.

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

