Backseat Drivers

Every day Vincent and I drive to school together; looking for cloud shapes and searching for the Oreo cows. I was excited about this year because it meant extra time with him. Out of all of our kids, Vincent needs a little extra attention so I thought this was a good opportunity for the both of us. However, I don’t know how I feel anymore. 

Vincent has always been very inquisitive and he wants to know everything. The kid is like a sponge full of knowledge and sarcasm. I think he learned that from me, oops. Vincent just wants to know everything and anything and since the beginning of this school year, he wanted to know about driving. Biggest. Regret. Of. My. Life.

Vincent is the biggest back seat driver. I mean it’s horrible… for twenty minutes to and from school and back again, this is all I hear…

“Mommy, how fast are you going?”

“Why are you going so fast?”

“You are not going the speed limit.”

“You need to slow down.”

“The police are going to get you.”

“Mommy you are going 60 and the speed limit is 50. You need to go 50.”

He can see the speedometer from the backseat- I drive a minivan so he is basically sitting in the trunk. The kid has like owl eyes. And who pays attention to their parents speed? When I was a kid I would wait for the windows to get foggy and draw hearts or stars or something.

What he doesn’t understand is that I am not speeding. I am late. The right lane is for slow people who need to get out of my way and the left lane is for all the people that are late.

So yes, I have taught my son all about traffic rules and speed limits and yesterday I figured out that I taught him something else when we were at a red light that had just turned green. From the way back I hear… “Ugh! Come on, dude! The gas pedal is on the right! Let’s go!”

So yes, a sponge of knowledge and sarcasm and he is only six.

Until next time,

Get the hell out of my lane.

 

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

