Topics You Should Never Debate

So as a general rule of thumb, there are topics that you should never debate: politics, religion, and abortion, to name a few.

It makes people uncomfortable so a lot of people choose not to debate, however, I am not one of those people. I am extremely opinionated. I voice my opinion in a very calm, loud voice. You don’t need to agree with me; I just like the mere heated battle of it all. And if you don’t agree with me, you are clearly wrong; I don’t understand… do I need to show you a visual for you to understand my side? Do you need a freaking PowerPoint Presentation so you can think better? Idiots.

Well, yesterday was a heated debate. So heated in fact the person didn’t talk to me for the whole day. Maybe I hurt his feelings with my harshness or that fact that I laughed at him with the absurdity as to which he was trying to get me to see things his way. Either way, I couldn’t let this debate go; it carried on for a good twenty-five minutes.

So here was the big problem… which end of the pencil is the top and which is the bottom? Yes folks, I debated with my six year old.

Vincent started it by the way. I had nothing to do with this debate and no, I was not an instigator. At least, I don’t think I was. Either way, he wanted to put on his eraser cap and stated that he needed to put it on the bottom of the pencil. I politely corrected him and let him know that he wanted to put it on the top of the pencil because otherwise, he would be sticking the point of the pencil through a new eraser cap.

Well, this is where everything went down. We argued about which end was the top and he kept telling me it was the point and I kept trying to explain to him that it’s the eraser. I don’t know how anyone could think that the point is the top. That is absolutely absurd and if people start thinking this way, the whole country is going under. No wonder China is ahead of the U.S in like everything.

So we argued and it got so heated that I was ready to pull over and brawl this six year old. Of course he handled it very maturely and told me that I ‘was wrong and how could I, his own mom, think that the eraser part of the pencil wasn’t the bottom!’ So after he told me I was wrong, I calmly thought of other examples to give him to let him know that ‘it was ok to have different opinions from other people.’ I even used the cliché that ‘differences make the world go round.’ Gag me.

So I brought up how I have several cousins that are Jewish and don’t believe that Jesus was as special as Catholics believe. Then I told him that I have nothing against their beliefs and neither of us are wrong. I knew I was in over my head when he piped up and said, ‘what is Jewish?’ and ‘why are we Catholic?’ For goodness sakes, then I had to try to explain religion. Do you know what time it is at this point? It’s like 6:45 am on the way to school. I can’t think this much… like ever.

So he was convinced that I was 100% wrong and that my opinion was stupid. I let it ride. Ok buddy, we will talk about the importance of the top and bottom of the pencil later. The kid didn’t even kiss me on his way out of the car and into school. I had to like bear hug him; meanwhile, there are like twenty cars behind me in line waiting for drop off. Like hell I am going to let him leave me because he is mad at me over a pencil.

So I left and went back home because I was sick and I thought about it for a good while. I was reviewing my parenting and thinking what I could have done better. And then I realized that it was nothing. I failed as a parent… my son is confused about pencils.

And man, God forbid that kid gets in a real debate. I don’t know what will happen. I mean he was so adamant about that freaking pencil that maybe I should put him on the debate team. Organized sports are not our thing in this household… mostly for the following reasons:

During soccer…   Vincent chased girls, pretended he was Buzz Lightyear and picked grass. During baseball… he climbed the fence and pretended he was Spiderman and during basketball… he does his running while staring at the ceiling and walking.

Debate team it is.

Until next time,

Use your pencil the correct way or you will stab your eye because the point should ALWAYS be on the bottom.

 

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

