Silence

I am sitting in silence. The buzzing in my ears is all too familiar but the quiet envelops me. It wraps my body like a warm blanket.

My mood is neither here nor there.

My silent suffering comes whether I invite it or not. It hides under my bed like the monsters I used to run from when I was young.

In the mid-day sun or the shadows of night is where my depression lives. It sits and it waits much like a lion about to pounce on its prey. It is always there just beyond my reach but it’s a part of me that is hard to shake.

Sometimes I wonder who am I? I sit here and listen to the buzzing in my ears and ‘wonder who am I?’ I don’t know who I am because I never had a chance to just be. How do you discover who you are at thirty-six? I have to learn to trust. Even the word makes me nauseous. Perhaps, in time?

I watch the flames dancing in the fireplace now. They move freely; one yellow-orange flicker after another. What would it be like to dance and be free- to follow that smoke up into the sky and move with the breeze? Only God knows and I’m not ready yet.

Until next time,

Allison

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

