I am Hearing Crickets

So our oldest son is seven and I always feel like I have a little time before he acts like a teenage. Today, I talked to him and heard crickets Today, I heard a goddamn forest of crickets. Chirp, chirp.

“Hey Vincent? I am just so proud of you. You are working so hard at being a better reader in school and you are working on doing better and you are just so loving to all your friends…” -me

Then it happened… his little, brown eyes started darting around the car- back and forth. And of course, I just kept staring at him. And then he looks at me and says…

“Whaaaat?” -Vincent

“I’m just proud of you.” -me

“Oooook.” -Vincent

And then it was seriously just awkward silence. Freaking crickets.

It was like telling a someone you love them and just hearing the sound of their feet catching on fire as they run away. 

So thanks for allowing me to pour out my heart on a Wednesday morning and giving me sketchy eyes and the sound of crickets.

Until next time,

Chirp, chirp…

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

