My Pretty Gran Came to Visit

So there’s one woman in my life that I miss the most and that is my gran. 

Emily’s middle name is Adeline the same middle name as my grandmother. I was very proud to name my daughter after my gran because my grandmom meant so much to me and there’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think about her. 

This morning when Emily and I were cuddling in my bed, I told her that I needed to take a shower. She looked at me and said ‘you smell jussssst right!’ 

Then she said ‘let me smell your arm,’ so I let her smell my arm and she took a big whiff of my arm and said ‘you smell just like Tootsie Rolls!’ 

Such a random thing for a 4 year old to pick. But here she was saying my arm smelled like Tootsie Rolls which is the exact nickname that my gran used to give me and all her grandchildren. 

Then when I asked her if I was just a bowl of porridge because she kept saying I smell just right, she raised up her fist and said ‘do you want one of these?’ My gran used to say that as she raised  up her fist and told me she was going to give me a porky (a punch). 

That look and determination in my daughter’s eyes were the same as my grandmother’s. 

I don’t give my kids porky’s, I don’t ever talk about my gran calling me a Tootsie Roll but that was a very defining moment for me because I know that even though my gran is gone and I miss her so much, I know that she’s still around telling me that she cares even when times are hard. 

Could it have been a coincidence? Maybe but I don’t believe in coincidences.

Until next time,

Let’s watch Jeopardy

This blog is dedicated to all of the grandchildren and all of us Tootsie rolls, Jamie, Chris, Lauren, Missy, Lisa, Mike, Jeff, Brad and Brian.

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

2 thoughts on “My Pretty Gran Came to Visit”

Leave a Reply

