My Favorite Story

​This is my absolute favorite story and it showed up on my Timehop today from three years ago. I still feel the same way and I will defend the art of creativity till I die- dramatic, I know.

__________________________

So at Vincent’s school, they send home homework sheets with letters of the alphabet  that the kids need to practice that day and a cartoonish picture on top of the paper so the kids also practice coloring. It may be a little mouse baking or a cat preparing a Thanksgiving dinner so, this is another good story about Vincent’s parent-teacher conference from last week:

“Well, I am concerned about Vincent’s coloring.” -teacher

“Ok. What are you worried about?” -me and joe

“Well, he needs to understand that we do realistic coloring in this class. So like if he was drawing a picture of you, he would use a peach color, not make mommy purple.” -teacher

“Ok, well, he is four and I am an art teacher. I have a really hard time telling him that he can’t color me any color he wants. I think that is stifling his creativity as a four year old.” -me

“Yea, but he needs to understand that if he is coloring a mouse or a cat that it should be brown or something like that because what he does now, will become a habit in the future.” -teacher

“Umm, no I don’t agree with you on this. You want him to color realistic colors but when was the last time you saw a mouse with a little hat on?” -me

“…….” -teacher

That’s right woman. Let me son color me purple. 😛

__________________________

And I still remember that look on her dumbfounded face and how Joe’s head was in his hands from the time I opened my mouth to the time the conference was over. Haha… still my favorite.

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Story”

Leave a Reply

