Let’s Stop Being Douche Bags

I do my best not to brag when I do a good deed but today’s good deed made me so angry and upset all at once.

There was a man who had up the typical sign that he was homeless and needed help. Car after car whizzed by him or ignored him when they came to a stop. We just had the holidays- we are supposed to be giving and caring at this time yet we are all too busy to actually see another human in need.

Today’s good deed was brought to you by my son. He actually saw the man before I did and asked me if we could get him something to eat. I asked the man what he wanted and it was just a Big Mac from McDonalds; a freaking Big Mac. Seriously, like you all couldn’t roll down the window to get a meal for this man? My five year old is better than you.

Once we got to McDonalds, my son saw his wife asking for the same help and when I asked her what she wanted, she just wanted a drink because she had just eaten and didn’t want the food to go to waste. She wanted a drink. So as you are all in line for you number 1’s and number 5’s, you couldn’t get her a sweet tea? I gave her my coat because I had nothing else to give this woman and that made me sad because she doesn’t have the basic needs that we all must have to feel human.

It makes me so angry that we can just go through life with these pretend blinders on; we all see these people but we choose to automatically be judgmental. I just don’t understand how we can sit there and be douche bags and judge our fellow man. The people we should be judging is ourselves. We should be pointing the finger at our self because we can just so easily pass each other by on the streets.

What ever happened to saying hello to one another on the street or having an actual conversation without being hooked to our phone at the same time? I know we are all guilty of this from time to time; so am I but it’s time that we stop judging each other and stop being giant douches.

If you see someone down on their luck, help them out and buy them a coffee or a sandwich or give them a dollar. What they do with that money isn’t up to you; it’s up to the big man upstairs. I don’t want to be the one who has to answer the question, ‘why didn’t you help your fellow man?’

Take a chance. Take a gamble. Make someone’s day better if only for a moment. And for the love of God, start seeing people with your heart and stop judging them with your mind.

Until next time,

Let’s stop being douches and help each other

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

