Entitlement the Next Generation Part II

Kids expect everything to be handed to them on a silver platter. But the truth is is that nothing is ever handed to you…you have to work for it.

Working at a school is hard. Just like in any school you have kids that want to thrive and kids that just don’t care. What bothers me is the potential that is wasted in the kids that don’t care. So much potential is just wasted. 

A lot of students that I have just want to take the L in every project or test. Taking the L just means that they’re taking a loss. And how sad is that that you’re just going to take the loss every time something gets hard or inconvenient?

That makes me so angry, ‘I’m going to take the L,’ are you going to say that at your next job interview, at your new job, at your future, with your family? I’m just going to take the L because life gets too hard?

Guess what buttercup? There’s no way to take the L in life. Taking the L means that you’re giving up, it means that you’re potential is dying, it means that there’s nothing left for you here and you have all that potential too… such a shame. I know about taking the L because there’s been times in life when I wanted to give up but I can’t do that because I have responsibilities. I have family, I have kids that love me, I have a husband that loves me. So taking the L means that you’re just letting other people down but not just other people because more importantly you’re letting yourself down.

So the next time that you’re in school and you’re considering taking the L, suck it up. Do that project, finish that test, study harder, work harder try more because no one’s going to care about how you feel when you feel lazy. Taking that L means that you’re missing out, it means that you’re taking a coward’s way out it means that you’re lazy and it means that you’re not disciplined.

As a teacher all I want for you is to take your head out of your ass. Start working, start driving for a future and start preparing for your future because the world is not handing you anything on a silver platter… this isn’t a five star restaurant.

Until next time,

Our soup of the day is, ‘Cry me a River,’ but it’s really salty.

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

