Brown v.s Peach People 

So my five year old is learning about Martin Luther King Jr. and he is trying to explain to me how peach people wouldn’t let brown people ride in the front of the bus.

So I go on trying to explain how people were not equal a long time ago and then Martin Luther King Jr. helped make people of all colors equal… and here is that conversation…

‘Mommy, did you know peach people wouldn’t let brown people sit in the front of the bus a long time ago?’ -Nicholas 

‘Yeah… how did you know that?’ -me

‘We learned it in school.’ Nicholas 

‘Oh! Are you learning about Martin Luther King Jr.?’ -me

‘Yes and peach people wouldn’t let brown people in schools and they were mean to brown people.’ -Nicholas 

‘That’s right. And no matter what color your skin is, we are all equal.’ -me

‘Yeah, because we all have the same brains.’ -Vincent

‘That’s true Vincent.’ -me

‘And we all have tongues.’ -Nicholas

‘Uh… yeah… that too.’ -me

Equality shouldn’t die with Martin Luther King Jr. Treat each other with love and respect because we all have brains and tongues and a five year old gets it… why can’t we?
Until next time, 

Praying that peach people, brown people and purple people will all be treated truly equal. 

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

