So You Want to Leave?

You say that you are working on your independence and you are trying to get out of our therapy group. I have to say that I am jealous and envious and I have no problem stating that or telling the world that I am envious that you are getting better.

What I want you to know, which you never will, is that it makes me fearful that you are leaving all of us behind. I am scared to be alone- physically and emotionally. You used to be where I was- don’t you remember what it was like to be me? 

I’m jealous; jealous that you are brave to take that next step in your life and envious that I am not. 

Take that step and leave if you must but don’t say we will get together and we will stay in touch because that won’t happen. Don’t tell others in the group that we will go out to restaurants and eat together. People lose touch- it is out of sight, out of mind. I am not saying that you don’t have good intentions, you certainly do, but it comes down to my jealousy of what you have that I do not.

I wish you well- I really do but if you are leaving our therapy group then I can’t see you anymore. You are getting better but leaving me behind and reminding me of what I am not.

Until next time,

Don’t you remember what it was like to be me?

Published by

BlackWhiteAndCrazy

I am a mother of three small children with a wonderful husband. Having children is not as simple as black and white. Having kids is black, white and crazy. I hope you enjoy my blog of my crazy escapades.

Leave a Reply

